## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## MEDIA RELEASE

August 5, 2024

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial office listed below:

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the late Honorable Michael S. Holt, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2030.

To receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Note that an email will suffice for written notification. Note that according to South Carolina Code of Laws § 2-19-20(C), no person may concurrently seek more than one judicial vacancy.

All completed application packets for the vacancy in the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, must be received by the Commission **by 12:00 pm, Noon, on Thursday, September 5, 2024**. For information on previous screenings and other JMSC-related information, please go to: <u>https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php</u>

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 <u>ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov</u> or (803) 212-6689 Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel